Generally speaking (lease provisions must be reviewed), in areas without rent control (all of Orange County as of Summer 2016), there is no limit to the amount a landlord can increase the rent as long as proper advance notice is provided to the tenant. The length of notice is dependent upon the percentage of the increase.
– If the increase is 10 percent or less, a 30 Day Notice is sufficient
– If the increase is 10 percent or more, a 60 Day Notice must be provided;
Use caution in compliance with the Civil Code for requirements within the notice, as well as service of the notice upon the tenant. (See California Civil Code section 827).
– California Department of Consumer Affairs (dca.ca.gov/publications/legal_guides/lt-2.shtml)
– California Civil Sode section 827
Real Estate Attorney | Real Estate Broker | REALTOR®
devinrlucas.com | firstname.lastname@example.org | BRE No. 01912302
949.478.1623 office | 888.667.6038 fax
2901 West Coast Highway Suite 200
Newport Beach | California | 92663-4023
The content on this blog is for informational purposes only. Nothing on this blog should be construed to be legal advice, and you should not act or refrain from acting on the basis of any content on this blog without seeking appropriate legal advice regarding your particular situation, from an attorney licensed to practice law in your state. The content on this blog is not guaranteed to be correct, complete, or up to date. Devin R. Lucas’ office is in Newport Beach, California and is only licensed to practice law in California. Please be advised that Devin R. Lucas only provides legal services or advice pursuant to a written legal services agreement. The content on this blog is not intended to, and does not, create an attorney-client relationship between you and Devin R. Lucas, nor does our receipt of an email or other communication from you. Some jurisdictions may consider this site to constitute attorney advertising; accordingly, please be advised this is an advertisement.